OUTLANDER BOOK TAG!!!!

89Ojkyb.gif

When Sasha Alsberg at abookutopia created this tag a week or two ago, I knew I had to do it. This was confirmed when I saw Tashapolis‘ version today. If you’ve been around me for the last 6 months, then you’ll know that this story/show has become very dear to me and in honour of season 2 which is currently showing, I think it’s time we get some Outlander up in here!

The only rule in this tag was to try and avoid answering with Outlander to these questions.

  1. You touch some standing stones, and you get transported back in time.What year would you end up in? 

Oh I’d love to turn up in 1945. World War II fascinates me and I’d love to run around London or New York in the last year of the war. As a history major who focused on the early half of the 20th Century, the idea of being transported to such a pinnacle moment in modern history is beyond drool-worthy. Give me the war rations, the black outs and the general anxiety. Wouldn’t bother me.

… My mother tells me I’m strange constantly. Don’t worry I’m fine.

2. Claire is a good nurse. But what type of skill would you want that a fictional character excels at?

I would love to have the abilities of Ruby from Dangerous Minds by Alexandra Bracken. Even though the Dangerous Minds trilogy constantly reminds us how dangerous Ruby is and even though she runs into more than a few problems during the series, I honestly think it’s an awesome skill/ability. She’s incredibly empathetic to the people around her and she’s saved people she loves on more than one occasion. I would obviously only use the ability for the greater good…. *awkward cough*

3. Jamie and Claire are the ultimate relationship goals. Who is your favourite fictional couple?

OH there are SO many character I could answer with right now. Not all are canon…. Anyhoo, my answer for this question has to be Sydney and Adrian from the Blood Lines series by Richelle Mead. OH MY LORD. I LOVE these two together. Honestly, they were just made for each other. I’ve got so many Sydrian feels right now just thinking about it. OWIE!

4. The ending of Outlander was shocking. What is one book that you read that totally blew your mind? 

Oh man. Do I have some stories to tell you… Trying to pick just one is hard, because there has been a few books that have ripped the carpet out from under me. Outlander was obviously one of them, even though I knew what was happening as I had watched the series. But for this tag, I’m going to have to say Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins. It was a scream of a book and so much darn fun. The dialogue was witty, and southern charm dripped from every inch. I loved the major plot twists towards the end of the book. The end was just so shocking, it was like someone came up and shoved you out of your backless stilettos while you were standing at the top of some steep stairs.

5. Scotland has lots of castles and we see a few in Outlander. What fictional kingdom would you want to live in?

I think the answer to this is plainly obvious…

its real for us.gif

 

6. Outlander has some very steamy scenes. What is your favourite romance novel?

Oooh… this is hard. A lot of the steamiest scenes in the books that I read happen to be in books that aren’t strictly romance. Most books I read only have romance as a sub-plot to the larger YA/Sci-fi backdrop. Given this, I’m going to break the rules of this tag and simply pick Outlander. Because lord, this book had me sweatin like a sinner in church. It was fire. It was god damn panty dropping. Miss Gabaldon  certainly knows how to write her romance scenes. (PSA: Don’t read or watch Outlander if you’re below the age of 18. Trust me my dears, you won’t be ready no matter how mature you are. Promise Aunty Ash you won’t read it until you reach the big 18) 

7. The Jacobite Rebellion is a huge plot point in Outlander. What is one of your favourite battles from a book?

Oh OH. SIT DOWN KIDDIES. I’ve read and seen a lot of final battles in my time. But I think the most intense one has to go to the one that literally choked the air out of me; The Other Side of Dawn by John Marsden. The last book in the Tomorrow Series, this book is one non-stop final battle that goes through varying stages. The tension of the previous 6 books culminates in one final anxiety driven conclusion that made 15 year old Ashleigh sob. Multiple times. Sometimes, I couldn’t bear to look at the page and read what was coming next. Didn’t want to know what stupid thing Ellie was going to do next. AUGH THIS BOOK. It’s been a good 7 years and I still can’t get over this book.

8. Jamie and Claire get married very unexpectedly. What fictional character would you like to marry on a whim?

Oh DUDE. I literally wrote a whole blog post about this particular gentleman. And honestly, in an absolute heartbeat I’d be at the end of the aisle in my best dress. My Outlander style wedding would definitely be to one, Mr Fitzwilliam Darcy. Because, as we know, it is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.

tumblr_lnr7a1q8Kz1qbxuoq.gif

 

9. Scotland is a very beautiful place. What fictional world would you love to visit?

OOOOOHHHH. THIS IS SO HARD…. uh…..

more sobbing.gif

How do I choose?

Bloody hell let’s just go with Middle Earth

tumblr_mjqgy7GDeW1r4g1p5o1_250.gif

10. If you could change the past, would you?

Both Sasha and Natasha said no to this question and I can totally understand their reasoning, but I actually dont agree. I would try to change the past, but I’d be awfully selective. I am a firm beleiver that somethings may very well be a fixed point in time, and obviously, to avoid erasing myself from existance, as well as many other people, one would have to be very delicate when fiddling with time. In the end, I would probably alter certain events that SHOULDNT have happened and didn’t overly mess with time.

get.gif

 

SO, laddies and lasses, that was me Outlander tag ye ken?

I here by tag the following by name: Adventures of a Bibliophile , Alicia from Hashtag Love Books and Bookworm Maniac

I also tag absolutely everyone else that wants to do it! Because I never get tagged in things and I want everyone to have all the blog opportunities in the world.

Have a gif of Jamie eating a bannock to fill you for your voyage back into the interwebs.

anigif_optimized-9186-1437596177-2

One thought on “OUTLANDER BOOK TAG!!!!

Leave a Reply

