Review: Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas (Throne of Glass #3)

20613470

Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas

or: OMG THIS IS PERFECT AND I CANT EVEN

Goodreads     ||   The Book Depository

Synopsis: She was the heir of ash and fire, and she would bow to no oneCelaena Sardothien has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak—but at an unspeakable cost. Now she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth…a truth about her heritage that could change her life—and her future—forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. To defeat them, Celaena must find the strength to not only fight her inner demons but to battle the evil that is about to be unleashed. The king’s assassin takes on an even greater destiny and burns brighter than ever before in this follow-up to the New York Timesbestselling Crown of Midnight.

I don’t know what’s better, the fact that Celaena starts this book off being as drunk as a skunk, or the fact that this book was utterly perfect.

This story takes the other two and absolutely SLAYS them. Maas brought the game to a whole new level. I liked the other two a lot, but this one was just Nirvana. Sometimes, series tend to slow down or falter on the third book of a series, as the author tries to bring in the major story line and add in new characters, new problems and question things. Maas doesn’t. Maas is the text book perfect example that all authors should follow.

As if Celaena could get any more badass. She does. What I loved most was the training sequences; watching her grow and her set back. Watching Maas prove, time and time again why  Celaena earned her spot as one of the most popular literary YA heroines in current circulation. There is no wisp of a hint of Mary Sue-ness; Celaena is a god damn miracle princess.

Literally.

This book introduced a swath of new characters, both friend and foe. Perhaps my two favourite new additions were Rowan and Manon. Rowan is perfect for Celaena’s character development, acting as the testy zen warrior master, impatiently pushing her- kicking and screaming- towards her end goal. Rowan is just bloody amazing, lets be real. I’ve got a thing for sullen older male characters, and Rowan is masterfully created and just ticks all the boxes. I’m so glad Maas didn’t force a romance in this book; their relationship developed naturally and painfully. They brought out the worst in each other before they brought out the best.

I loved Maas switching to Manon’s point of view; I loved the jumps to Manon’s story as it added another increasingly complex layer to an already thick, swelling plot. This other dimension just works, and it almost broke my mind trying to figure out what the clans were up to and what the king needed them for. I loved Manon. I loved how I wasn’t supposed to like Manon. I loved how bloody nasty she was. I loved her cheek and I loved her spirit. I truly think we need more characters like Manon. I loved how Maas explored the dynamics of the thirteen and the complexities of the clan ranking system. I loved the Wyrverns.

A lot of people grumble that this book relies to heavily on character building . A lot of people have a lot of problems with this book. Was there immense levels of character building? Yes, a heck tonne. Was it necessary for the series. YES. It explained so much, and I would argue, moved what could have been a series that eventually ran flat, into something much more complex and special.

I was willing to slog through the sometimes excessively slow parts because it was obvious the whole time that something BIG was coming. Maas rewards those who wait, and Maas dropped a stunning finale right in our laps. The end of this book certainly out-weighed the means to get there.

I always struggle reviewing books in a series, as it’s literally impossible to review them without seriously spoiling the first couple of books for people looking to read them. And I struggled with this book in particular because I wasn’t entirely sure what to say, and how to put my thoughts into words. This isn’t an easy book by any means; it’s not a book or series where you can simply switch your mind off and easily read. Each book, and line, and word requires concentration. Maas has given the readers a gift in this respect.

And I think, no matter how long I took to review this book, I’d never be able to do it true justice. This series is utterly fantastic and it’s mind boggling that I’ve only been reading it for a few months.

I cannot wait until book five which,- slated at the time of this review- to be released in September this year (2016). I read book 4 not long after this one, but you’ll have to stay tuned for that review.

I’ll end this review, with perhaps one of my favourite quotes from this book;

“And then I am going to rattle the stars.”
Sarah J. Maas, Heir of Fire

 

Read: English Paperback Edition

Leave a Reply

