The Book Pastry Tag

I wasn’t tagged in this… but I’m going to do it anyway. I saw this tag on Bookwormaniac  originally, and it grabbed my attention. I’m a sucker for tags. And I’m going to open up this tag to you, dear reader. If you want to do this tag, I officially tag you. You go do you.

Croissant: Name a popular book or series that everyone (including you) loves.

13519397

A relative late comer to this series, I, like most mere mortals, couldn’t help but fall in love with the genius that is Throne of Glass. I bloody love this series. With a kick ass heroine, a brilliant plot line with plot twists and shockers galore, you cant help but be totally sucked into Maas vivid world. If you haven’t read this series yet, what are you doing with your life?

Macaron: Name a book that was hard to get through but worth it at the end.

9774199

This book is sublime. A monstrosity of a book, weighing in at 700+ pages, its easy to get put off by feeling like you’re moving at a glacial pace through this book after hours of reading. But the story itself is so worth it. Exceedingly complex and beautifully executed, Harkness delivers a gravity defying book (that has to be one of the worst puns I’ve ever made, please hang me). I was DESPERATE to know what happened and fell hard for Matthew De Clairmont. Oh lord *fans self*

Vol-au-vent: Name a book that you thought would be amazing but fell flat.

13638125

As I mentioned in my review of this book, this book had so much potential, but for some reason, it fell flat. I’m still not entirely sure why, as it had everything I love in the pages. And yet… I’m also well aware the ardent fans of this book will execute me for this *runs and hides*

Pain au chocolat: Name a book that you thought would be one thing but turned out to be something else.

77113_original

This book surprised me. It wasn’t at all what I thought it would be, and lord, am I glad. This was one of the books I fell in love with in 2015, and for a good reason. There’s also a reason Maas has made this current tag twice. She’s certainly earned it. This book is best read when you have little clues as to whats going on, so I’ll stay silent on this one and let you discover it for yourself.

Profiterole: Name a book or series that doesn’t get enough attention.

20898019

This is comic is bloody fantastic. It’s also a new addition to the marvel universe and largely overlooked because of it. Y’all need Kamala in your lives.

Croquembouche: Name a book or series that’s extremely complex.

10576365

This book had my mind whirring. Not only did you have to focus on the different sorts of colours and their abilities, but you also were following what they were up to, movements of other characters behind the scenes, as well as self analysing and thinking about reflections/metaphors to current society. That was a really long sentence… sorry. I cant English good sometimes.

Napoleon: Name a movie or TV show based off a book that you liked better than the book itself.

sherlock-453427

OK, OK wait, let me explain. Before you go rabid on me, let me just start off with saying that I adore the Sherlock Holmes Stories. A lot. Doyle was a tortured soul, but man does he write an engaging story. But I am a strong believer that Sherlock and the Mysteries he and Dr Watson solve, are much more complex and beautiful when seen and not read. BBC’s Sherlock is one of my favourite shows… I just adore it. AND CAN WE TALK ABOUT THE CHRISTMAS SPECIAL?! SOMEONE TALK TO ME ABOUT IT PLEASE! Moffat breathes a smoky life into our favourite detective and my god do Cumberbatch and Freeman do smashing jobs at their roles.

Empanada: Name a book that was bittersweet.

The_covers_of_the_six_Vampire_Academy_books

SO MUCH PAIN. YET SO MUCH ANGSTY, BITTER SWEET GOODNESS. Anyone who is familiar with any of Mead’s work will know why I chose her baby. Honestly this series… THIS SERIES BRO.

Kolompeh: Name a book or series that takes place somewhere other than your home country.

256683

It’s harder to find books set in Australia, than it is to find a book NOT in Australia. I thus present the first book that came to my mind. The Mortal Instruments splits it’s time between Mundane New York and Alicante. Clare clearly loves both worlds, and paints a gorgeous picture for someone who never grew up in a bustling city.

 

Pate a Choux: Name one food from a book or series that you would like to try.

002-Film-Still-The-Great-Hall-001.jpg

I would love to have every single food from Harry  Potter. Even Puking Pasties. Seriously. Attending the welcoming feast in the great hall is literally a dream. SERIOUSLY WHERE IS MY HOGWARTS LETTER?!?!

2 thoughts on “The Book Pastry Tag

Leave a Reply

