Review: The Wicked + The Divine Vol. 1. Faust Act

23093359

The Wicked + The Divine Vol. 1 The Faust Act by  Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie (Illustrations), Matt Wilson (Colorist),Clayton Cowles

Or: …. Wait What Just Happened?

Goodreads   ||     The Book Depository

Synopsis: Every ninety years, twelve gods incarnate as humans. They are loved. They are hated. In two years, they are dead. The team behind critical tongue-attractors like Young Avengers and PHONOGRAM reunite to create a world where gods are the ultimate pop stars and pop stars are the ultimate gods. But remember: just because you’re immortal, doesn’t mean you’re going to live forever

I really wanted to read this Comic. The illustrations looked gorgeous and the plot made me so excited I couldn’t sit still. I ignored the comments on goodreads and the booktube reviews, because I just had to have this comic. In hindsight, I should have listened to the reviews

Unfortunately, while the illustrations were as every bit as beautiful as I had hoped, I was left feeling very underwhelmed.

This was a very confusing comic. Honestly, I’m not sure exactly what happened. The dialogue was beautiful but seemed to jump between different subjects and it felt like there were whole chunks and sections of this story missing, like people had left pages out when putting it together. There was also a lot of internal dramatic monologue from the main character which seemed to serve little purpose. I wish they had spent some of that monologue space making things a bit more clear.

The beginning wasn’t even clear; it begins with an old woman staring at a house fire and this doesn’t make sense until right at the end of the comic. There’s zero explanation, or world building and the reader’s just sort of dumped in the story and left to shakily piece the narrative together with no help from the authors.

The characters were all really interesting and engaging, but, yet again, confusing as to how they fit in within the story. I loved Lucy. She was excellent if confusing. I wish there was more time to flesh her out. She was one of the few characters that was actually given a back story that made some sense.

I think, in the effort to be mysterious and to tease their audience, Gillen and Co sacrificed more than they realised. The comic feels like a crazy pipe dream put to paper and probably makes total sense to the creators. Gillen and Co have accidentally alienated their audience, which is definitely the wrong thing to do. The quality of Comics in 2015 was so great that this one really sticks out as a “miss”. Which is a shame, because like I said earlier, the art is beautiful and so is the concept.

I don’t think I can bring myself to pick up the next comic in this series if there is one. I’m not the only one that feels this way- Goodreads is split and I definitely fall within a strong faction. It’s almost tempting to let myself be enchanted by the gorgeous cover/art and forget about it’s inconsistencies but my brain can’t ignore them. This looks like it’s going to be a big series with many more volumes to come which is good for the comic’s fans.

Some people may really like this book, I just didn’t. Maybe I’m still too new to comics to really appreciate one this arty-farty. Who Knows.

This Book was read in 2015 and was apart of my 2015 Reading Challenge.

Leave a Reply

