Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas (Throne of Glass #2)

17167166

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas

Or: YAS GURL

Goodreads  ||    The Book Depository

Synopsis: From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil. Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart. Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

My opinion of this book can be summarized into two words. Hell Yes

I liked the first book of this series. But I LOVED this second book. This is exactly what I wanted to see from Maas for this book; improved skill and craftsmanship in her writing, a killer plot and mysteries galore. Let me tell you, this book delivered.

I was initially hesitant with this series; these books had a heck tonne of hype and its easy to become daunted. This book proves it’s top place in pop culture right now.

I didn’t think Celaena could become any more bad-ass but she did. She showed us her assassin side, a side which Maas had previously very carefully hidden in the last book but let come out with a vengeance. This improved her character, made everything more believable and made you root for her all the more. I adore morally ambiguous anti-heroes, and its rare that you find such a good one in YA.

My only quip with this book however, was the predictable reveal about Celeana’s heritage. Saw that coming a mile off. I had it pegged in book 1 when she found the tomb, and I felt slightly annoyed that I had been right in my guess when the bombshell was dropped. Maas did well in dropping it, but I think in her excitement, she kept giving readers glimpses of her hand too early. She could have hidden it easily but she let too much slip.

I’m glad however,that Maas flipped over and reversed her decision with the love triangle. Thank christ she fixed it. But even better was that she made the degeneration of the triangle seem inevitable and not rushed or guilty. She let the plot fix itself and let characters shine. I’m glad we saw Celeana’s conflict with both herself and Chaol and I loved their struggle with each other and their feelings. I get so sick of seeing perfect relationship in fiction all the time, especially with characters with less than perfect personalities. Thank god Maas saw sense.

The action was perfect! This book held a lot more badass fight/conflict scenes than the last believe it or not, but they were well paced and certainly well executed. Maas succedeed in giving me nightmares yet again with a certain character or two and a round of applause needs to go Maas’ way for her ability to weave such tension and suspense into her writing

This book has sold me on this series, and I’m desperately hoping the rest of the books live up to this one. I’m keen as a bean to see what happens next, and hopefully I can burn through my TBR pile quickly this year so that I can grab the next installments.

There’s a reason this book made it onto my top books of 2015 list, even though I read it reasonably late in the year. Trust me, if you haven’t started this series yet, you need to.

This Book was read in 2015 and was apart of my 2015 Reading Challenge.

Other books in this Series; Throne of Glass, Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows

Leave a Reply

