Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee

15863832

Angelfall by Susan Ee

or:…. uhhh…. wat

Goodreads    ||    The Book Depository 

Synopsis: It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back. Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel. Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl. Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

I think I may be the only person in the universe that didn’t actually loose their mind over this book. I mean the book was good I guess, but I honestly don’t think its as good as people say. Currently on Goodreads, this book has a 4.20 out of 5 star user review and when I decided to buy this book was around about the same. People LOVE this book and the other two in the series, but I simply cant bring myself to summon up the necessary enthusiasm for this book.

Before the rabid crowd devours me whole, let me be clear; I liked this book, but I didn’t love it. Like it was a solid ‘Ok’. I can’t summon the will to read the other two books in the series (for reasons mentioned in my 5 series that I wont finish post). Peyrn was a lovely, spitfire heroine, but I didn’t get the chance to properly know her or gain a connection to her.

This is what a post apocalyptic movie is like when its been directly transferred to a movie companion novel. This is all go-go-go action and not so much pondering on the state of things. I frequently got confused and lost by what had actually happened to make the world end, and while the angel mythology was intriguing, I had to rely solely on my own Biblical knowledge of angels to get some idea of what was going on.

This all should have been a clue due to the size of the book; it’s skinny and a very quick read. If one was so inclined, it could be easily read in a few hours. I couldn’t because I kept loosing inspiration and left many weeks in between picking it up again.

I can kind of see the appeal of this book however. Its easy to see how people can become invested, it’s just that I didn’t. The characters are strong but I just don’t think Ee allowed herself enough time to develop them properly. Raffe is a fairly interesting love interest as far as they go, but he felt very hollow right up until the end when he began to grow some balls.

Ee has a rather unusual style of story telling and for that reason, I think this book was worth the read. It ended up not being my pot of tea, but I think my mind grew and my perception widened after this book. I’ve never read a book with this style of story telling and it’s good to see people breaking the mold.

This book breaks a lot of molds; it’s a fresh new take on YA apocalyptic fiction, it’s got a zingy and PoC heroine, it’s stylistically new and it brings a whole new world of possibilities into the game. Ee makes a lot of interesting comparisons in this book and it’s definitely a book you need to keep your mind on and thinking with so that you can properly pick up all she’s packed into the concise story. Of note is Ee’s reflection on human behaviors, typically of our survival instincts as well as our desires to form ‘packs’. It’s a notable contribution to the apocalyptic fiction  world.

Even though i’m not too crazy about this book as a whole, i’m well aware that you may like it and enjoy it and for that reason, I’m suggesting that you read it if the premise tickles your fancy. I mean go on, why not?

That 4.20 rating was a good enough push for me.

Read: World-Wide Paperback edition

Leave a Reply

