Review: Miss Peregrines Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Higgs

51xgGEKd6oL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Miss Peregrines Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

or: Holy crap this is so creepy…. give ME ALL THE BOOKS

Goodreads ||   The Book Depository

Synopsis: A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs. A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

I don’t usually read the more creepier side of the fantasy world. As someone who has zero tolerance for scary movies/books, I just cant deal. I get nightmares and its just not a fun time for anyone.

BUT THIS BOOK IS SO GOOD I DON’T CARE IF I GET NIGHTMARES FOR YEARS

I highly recommend this book, and I highly recommend going into this book with zero ideas or expectations of the plot. Trust me stick with the Vague summary- the shock value just adds to the experience, and trust me, this book is an experience.

The beginning of this book is a little bit slow. I found myself stopping and starting during the beginning chapters, just reading in short random spurts whenever I had a few minutes. After giving myself a well deserved night off from tedious assignments, I decided I wanted to get stuck into it.

Best. Decision. Ever.

This is definitely a winter book; the winter winds and the dreary weather today made this book even better or if you live in a country that celebrates Halloween, save this until then.

All of this book is amazing, but a definite highlight of this book is the creepy antique photographs of children that appear sectioned throughout. I’ve worked in a local museum- i’ve seen creepy photos *shudders*- but nothing compares to these ones. They’re so coooool. Creepy, but cool as heck. These pictures aren’t just in there for the sake of being in there- these add to the story and makes the universe Higgs has created more vivid.

This is exactly the first book you want in a series- it sucks you in, makes you invested in a new and wacky world and makes you itch to go straight out and grab the next books in the series. I love how Higgs sustains such an elegant mystery- he’s so careful about what he releases. He merely hints at things and teases you mercilessly with the information you don’t have. The villain becomes a good old fashioned, curl your toes villain; except there are no dramatic soliloquies revealing his master plan. This is perfect though, it adds to the mystery. There’s nothing worse than guessing what the villain is up to before it happens because an author reveals to much. I hate it. But this is certainly not the case with Higgs. If anything Higgs is the opposite and you could possibly accuse him for releasing too little information on the master plan.

At first I was very wary about the main character of Jacob. I was really worried we’d get the painful “I’m a privileged whiny teenage boy” stuff  that often happens in opening chapters. I didn’t need to worry, Higgs didn’t fall into the faux par. We learn about Jacob’s personality and family as he goes through a mental break down. Higgs understands mental health and pays careful attention as to how he presents it; he could have charged in like a bull in a china shop but his delicacy is admirable and his research impeccable.

Higg’s writing is typical of this style- simple, quick paced and no use of unnecessary words. A refreshing change from the prose and descriptive ladden sort of books I usually read. Even though his style is economic, its still easy to imagine the landscapes, people and action as it occurs. Riggs creates a rich fictional world that is impossible not to be drawn into.

I’ve been fortunate this year to read some good books, and this is most certainly one of them.

Read: On my Kindle. 

2 thoughts on “Review: Miss Peregrines Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Higgs

Leave a Reply

