Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

My next books to read. Can't wait to get some quality reading time 😋 #bookworm #TBR #nextread

A post shared by Ashleigh Warton (@ashleigh954) on

This is technically a youtube tag…. but I really felt the urge to do this….so…. yeah…… Also no one tagged me…… but frankly my dear I don’t give a damn. This sounded like a lot of fun and I can’t wait to do it!!!

Feel free to do it yourself. I officially tag you.

The original tag comes from The Book Archer (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9UwI6f1tGJr0GeFh3SdNzA)

1. A Popular Book or series that you didn’t like.

People are going to kill me for this but I hated ‘The Great Gatsby’. I still do. With a fiery passion. I was forced to study it for my HSC English and every second of it was torture. I still shudder each time someone says the name. Sorry not sorry.

2. A Popular Book or series that every one else seems to hate but you love.

I’ve been trying for ages to think of one and honestly cant. The only one I can think of is The Undead Series by Mary-Janice Davidson and people don’t so much hate it as it seems to be a series you love or you hate. Its relatively unknown but its a pretty even split in terms of the first couple of books. I personally adore this series so much, Betsy is my Queen literally, and don’t understand the hate it gets.


3. A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (warn ppl for spoilers) OR an OTP that you don’t like.

Oh man where do I start. There are so many times I just scratch my head and go geh? I’ll only mention a few here; Ginny and Harry (Its definitely a sister/brotherly relationship), Luce and Daniel from the Fallen series (I know they’re literally the whole premise for the series but I personally don’t get Daniel at all), Mina and Johnathan (from dracula, going back to the classics here), Elanor and Park (scandalous I know. please see my book review on this for a more detailed reason) etc.

4. A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for.

Mystery. I’ve never really gotten deeply into it. I’d honestly like to, but I tend to just stick within my own genres. It’s something I’m trying to challenge though but Mystery is usually never even thought of in my mind.

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

I may piss off a few people with this one, but I really really really do not like Gale in The Hunger Games. Not in the movies or books. I think he’s a waste of space honestly. I grimace each time his character is brought up. Love the Hunger Games, hate Gale.

6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

I tried to read some of Claudia Grays work this year. I don’t know if it was just the book I read (the disaster that is Spellcaster), but I am really reluctant to give her other books a shot. I dont like her style of writing, I hate the helpless female character leads. I hate that Spellcaster revolved solely around a boy and girls crush on each other. Shes probably just not for me.

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

Lots. Let me be brief as a lot of these I intend on writing blog posts on. The Bad Boy trope needs to stop. Now. Its both dangerous, ridiculous and unhealthy to teach women that the bad boy is someone to be lusted over and lauded no matter how badly he treats you. A leopard does not change its spots. You cant fix him.

Second. The damsel in distress. Ridiculous and I refuse to buy into that patriarchal bull. Give me strong heroines who fend for themselves and solve their own problems.

Third… I’ll stop now to avoid going on a rant.


8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

Honestly, I’ll try most books. The only one that’s probably the exception to this rule is the 50 shades series. I will not give my money to a franchise that wrongly depicts a kink and tries to convince its readers that its abusive male love interest is just mysterious and its ok. Its not ok. You will not get one cent from me.


9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

Honestly, none that I can think of. Maybe I’ve yet to come across that magical unicorn, but usually its the book for me that’s better. That’s essentially my golden rule. Sometimes I may not have read the books behind a tv series or a movie but its hard to say that it is in that case better if I don’t have anything to yet compare it with.

Leave a Reply

