Review: Half A King by Joe Abercrombie

half-a-king-uk-hb

Half a King by Joe Abercrombie

or: Ooops sorry I fell asleep

Goodreads   ||   The Book Depository

Synopsis: Prince Yarvi has vowed to regain a throne he never wanted. But first he must survive cruelty, chains and the bitter waters of the Shattered Sea itself. And he must do it all with only one good hand. The deceived will become the deceiver. Born a weakling in the eyes of his father, Yarvi is alone in a world where a strong arm and a cold heart rule. He cannot grip a shield or swing an axe, so he must sharpen his mind to a deadly edge.The betrayed will become the betrayer. Gathering a strange fellowship of the outcast and the lost, he finds they can do more to help him become the man he needs to be than any court of nobles could. Will the usurped become the usurper? But even with loyal friends at his side, Yarvi’s path may end as it began – in twists, and traps and tragedy...

I don’t often read high fantasy books like this.

I must have forgotten this when I picked up this book.

When I picked up this book, I did so knowing this would be a challenging book for me. I rarely read books belonging to this part of the genre but I challenged myself to expand my tastes and picked up this book because of it’s glowing reviews

I struggled reading this book not because of a bad plot- it was masterfully crafted- or bad writing- Abercrombie’s writing is smoother than silk- it was merely because I didn’t connect with the story…. and I wanted to fall asleep… mainly because I felt like falling asleep.

Those are the only reasons I disliked this book, and it’s through no fault of its own. I can see why people love it, it’s just that I didn’t. But I’m glad I read this book. Yarvi is refreshing and witty and hosts a band of motley characters who would have been charming if I could find a scrap of empathy for them.

I had to force myself to focus on this book. If a book doesnt capture and hold my attention straight away, it’s lost me. And boy did this book loose me. It was ages between each time I picked this book up and it took me almost two months to finish because I was so apathetic towards the characters.

Would I recommend this book to others? Sure. Would I do so to people not interested in this sort of epic-royal/fantasy sub-genre? No. This book caters to very specific tastes. I deeply regret that mine weren’t some of them.

Many people love this book. Goodreads is full of glowing reviews praising this book to the heavens. I wish I could write one too. I really wish I had liked this book. I wanted to. I went into it so open minded, proud of myself for pushing out of my normal comfort zone. I knew exactly what I was getting myself into, I just ignored it because I was secretly hoping this book would be different. Ultimately, its up to you if you choose to read this book, just really question whether this book is right for you and you’re willing to take the gamble.

One thought on “Review: Half A King by Joe Abercrombie

Leave a Reply

