Review: The Ruby Circle (Bloodlines 6) by Richelle Mead

8709528

The Ruby Circle by Richelle Mead (Bloodlines #6)

Or; I cant remember a time without feels. Someone send help my heart is dead

Goodreads    ||    The Book Depository

This review contains massive spoilers for all of the preceding Bloodlines Books as it is the last book in the series. If you intend to read this series, it’s probably best to skip this review and wait until you’ve reached this point.  

Synopsis: Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets – and human lives. Their forbidden romance exposed, Sydney and Adrian find themselves facing the wrath of both the Alchemists and the Moroi in this electrifying conclusion to Richelle Mead’s bestselling Bloodlines series. When the life of someone they both love is put on the line, Sydney risks everything to hunt down a deadly former nemesis. Meanwhile, she and Adrian becomes enmeshed in a puzzle that could hold the key to a shocking secret about spirit magic, a secret that could shake the entire Moroi world and alter their lives forever.

I was both desperate for this book to be released and defiant that this was the last book in this universe I would ever read. I was not, and will never be, ready to give up the world of the US Moroi and Alchemists.

This is the one series that I will never let go.

6 years. For the last 6 whole years I’ve been following the Vampire Academy Series and Bloodlines series. 6 years of desperately waiting for books to be released. 6 years of falling in love with every nuance of each book; every character and every plot twist. 6 years of tears, laughter and every emotion in between.

This book shaped my teenage years and early adult life. It saw me through the tough and angsty years of high school and the tumultuous University years. In the time I read this series, I’d lost and then gained best friends, got my HSC and my Bachelors Degree and fell in love.

If Harry Potter defined my Childhood, then VA and Bloodlines defined my Teens. A bold claim, but a true one. Mead’s world holds the same importance to me that Harry Potter does, and that’s not something said lightly.

I don’t want to leave this universe and I don’t want Mead to finish these books. But this was by far the neatest and most well done wrap of a series I’ve seen.

Mead hits all points again, and her balance of humour and wit with the intense action sequences seems to become only better as each book goes on. The sophistication but empathetic nature of her writing creates a strong bond between the reader and the character, and its hard not to picture yourself standing right next to Sydney and Adrian the entire time.

I’ve long been a fan of Sydney and developed a strong connection to her in Blood Promise, so I’ve really enjoyed this series as a whole. This was an appropriate ending for such a strong and worthy character and I’m pleased with the ending.

As always, Mead’s ability to throw around twists shocks and delights and as always, there was a few I did not see coming at all. Two in particular come to mind as artfully done, and, to avoid revealing spoilers, I must say, be prepared for things you never saw coming.

The book is fast paced but not rushed, with plot points evenly spaced throughout the book. There is always something happening, and while not everything is prevalent- the story’s told from both Sydney and Adrian’s points of view so seeing everything would be stupid- Its easy to forgive anything she misses. The build up to the ‘final battle’ is tantalizing and if you love adrenaline page turning plot then this is your book.

Its hard to write this review as I’m worried I’m going to spoil the entire series for someone and that would be unforgivable. Now if you’ll excuse me I’m going to go sob in the corner and repeat “the center will hold” a couple of times

One thought on “Review: The Ruby Circle (Bloodlines 6) by Richelle Mead

Leave a Reply

