Review: Living Dead in Dallas (Sookie Stackhouse 2) by Charlaine Harris

Covers-Living_Dead_in_Dallas-008

Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris

or: Man These Books Are So Different From The TV Series

Good Reads    ||     The Book Depository

Synopsis: Sookie Stackhouse likes living in Bon Temps, Louisiana, and she likes working as a cocktail waitress at Merlotte’s. But she is having a streak of bad luck. First her co-worker is killed, and no one seems to care. Then she comes face-to-face with a beastly creature which gives her a painful and poisonous lashing. Enter the vampires, who graciously suck the poison from her veins (like they didn’t enjoy it). The point is: the vampires saved her life. So when one of her bloodsuckers asks for a favour, she obliges-and soon Sookie’s in Dallas, using her telepathic skills to search for a missing vampire. She’s supposed to interview certain humans involved, but she makes one condition: the vampires must promise to behave, and let the humans go unharmed. But that’s easier than done, and all it takes is one delicious blonde and one small mistake for things to turn deadly...

Let me begin by warning you- This is the second book of a series, beware of spoilers.


It’s been at least 5 years since I first read the first book in the Sookie Stackhouse series but finally getting onto this one has been a pleasure. I don’t believe I appreciated these books enough 5 years ago; I’m kind of glad I left it now as I believe I can appreciate these books more with age.

Harris’ characters are strong and her dialogue witty and its so easy to glide through page after page, totally immersed in the world of Bon Tempe.

Even if you’ve seen the tv series- which I have recently devoured (hehehe)- the books are just different enough that it doesn’t feel old. The differences between the tv series and the books at first jarred me immensely, but I quickly forgot these differences and they became permissible. It’s hard to hate Harris’ work.

The style of these books is a more grittier take than the more upbeat style chosen by the screenwriters but I think that’s what makes these books work. Definitely a member of the adult genre, it’s probably best to remember that the series is rated R for a reason. The sultry scenes are done well and tasteful and so tantalizing that you find yourself wishing for more. Against the series, the book probably wins in terms of the way the naughty stuff is done.

Being more of a Bill fan, I enjoyed this book immeasurably – this book was packed with Bill (Suuuuooookkkkiieee) but the book definitely fluffs out Eric’s character. While Eric is not as present in this book as he is in season 2, I can’t bring myself to mind. Godfrey is like 100 times scarier and Harris does not present him as the tortured romantic creature at all. This pleased me greatly.

Not sure if there are others like me, but sometimes I get tired of authors painting vampire characters as redeemable. Harris certainly doesnt and its a releif to have vampires who are bad to the core and have humans the same. The Fellowship of the Sun is presented as the nut-jobs that they are and it was amazing to see the parallels Harris draws between the two species.

It’s amazing how much content and plot Harris can pack into such a little book, and the plot moves refreshingly fast, barely snagging on difficult plot circles. If you are looking for a quick, entertaining read, this is your series. It only takes a couple of hours and you’re done.

This book has definitely rekindled my love for the series and at the next opportunity, I’m definately going to get my claws on more

Leave a Reply

